Making our school better.

One team. One goal. Your Foundation at work.

about us

The Pickett's Mill Elementary School Foundation (PMESF) is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, established in 2009, dedicated to providing enhanced educational opportunities that otherwise would not be a part of the Pickett's Mill Elementary School instructional program.  

PMESF  is organized exclusively for the purpose of raising funds and providing resources beyond the scope of traditionally supported programs.  Those programs that are not provided by Cobb County School District or the PTA and are for the benefit of ALL students at Pickett's Mill.  

State and federal funding provide a standard level of educational opportunity for children.  With extra effort, it is possible to improve the quality of that standard.  PMESF recognizes and respects the uniqueness of each child!

 The Foundation improves the quality of educational opportunities for students in order to help them reach their fullest potential.  Pickett's Mill Elementary School Foundation (PMESF) is separate from the PTA, and while both are focused on improving the educational experience, Foundation supports different areas that they cannot.  PMESF can utilize funds for salaries, capital improvements, supplies, equipment and other school needs. The PTA works with our school to provide programs and volunteers, but national PTA guidelines limit how PTA can spend funds.  The Foundation raises money through donations, grants, and corporate sponsorship and supports objectives based on the needs of the students as well as parent, administration, faculty and community inputs.

Our goal is to promote student participation, leadership, learning, curiosity and creativity. We partner with families, the community, administration, faculty and PTA to empower educators and support student success. We strive always for positive involvement, respect and transparency and pledge good stewardship of the financial resources entrusted to us for the benefit of all Picketts Mill Elementary School students.
— Beth Schumaker, Foundation President 2019-2020